Tell us about Zack. He’s been successful, but he’s competitive and a little smug. A lot of performers have a lot of insecurity, and there’s usually a little bit of fear behind that. And, obviously, with his ex, he’s playing on things that happened in the past. I’m naturally a competitive person, but to be deliberate in trying to take down the other school—that’s not really in me, but it was nice to put on those shoes. Is Zack going to be singing and dancing? Yeah, there is a song and dance performance in this season. I’m doing a duet. What was cool was I’m originally from Utah, and we filmed in Utah. It was good to go home and see the family and then go shoot some episodes. You’re an Emmy-winning choreographer, so what’s it like to work with the High School Musical choreographer? Did he give you input into your dance moves? Absolutely. It was one of those situations where it was already prepared. I came in and learned what I had to do in just a few hours and we shot it. It happened quickly. Also, for me, the choreography and the movement that I did was more playful versus a full-out choreographed stage production. It was more about the scene, about the interaction with the person I was duetting with. It was great. We were able to move all around the room, use props and use the whole space. Not that 35 is old, but what was it like working with the kids? Because that used to be you. It’s hilarious you said that, because when I was in Utah, I said, “I’m 35,” and my stepmother said, “What? You’re so…” and I was like, “Are you going to say immature?” She said, “You don’t act 35.” I was like, “I know, I think that I do that consciously.” But to answer your question, I didn’t see a lot of the younger cast. Most of my scenes were with Kate Reinders, Miss Jenn. But the song “Drivers License” [sung by Olivia Rodrigo] had just blown up. I was like, “Wait, I recognize that girl. She’s on High School Musical.” It’s awesome to see them thriving and doing such wonderful things. This is another musical, like Hairspray Live! Do you ever want to play a dark, twisted role? We’ll see in the future. When I went to theater arts school in London, there were a few things I did that were quite dark and moody and emotional. Honestly, I loved that. However, I think that right now, for me, my focus in future projects that I’m about to work on, I feel like in this day, I feel compelled to do joy, pure and fun. I feel like there’s a lot of density right now in general in the world, and I feel like bringing a little bit of light, a little bit of joy, is calling to me. World of Dance was canceled officially. How sad were you to hear it? I found that out a while ago, but it was such a good show to be part of. I loved World of Dance, the dancers. That’s the thing, too, right now I’m creating something new for dancers to showcase their abilities, not just to compete. I’m really, really excited about that. For the 15th season, DWTS did an all-star season. Would you like to see another all-star season in honor of the 30th season? You know what? I have no idea, but I just got excited when you said that because I realized we’ve got to do something big for it. That’s a big deal. Not many shows have made 30 seasons. That’s huge. So, I’ll be curious to see what they do. I will say, though, I’ve heard some rumors and whispers of possible people they’re asking about casting. As much as I would love to see an all-star season with all-star people, I also love the ideas they are talking about. So, I don’t know, maybe it’s a mixture. Who knows? Will you return for season 30 of Dancing With the Stars? It’s likely, especially since season 30 is such a milestone. For me, it would feel right to be a part of that season, given the history and my relationship with the show and how much I love it. You hold the title for most DWTS wins, with six. Are you hoping no one beats your record? My friend, who loves sports, he’s like, “Michael Jordan won six [NBA championships] and Tom Brady won six [Super Bowls]. Now Tom Brady’s won seven. Derek, you’ve got to go back and try to win another one to even it up with Tom Brady.” I feel like the Super Bowl and the Dancing With the Stars trophies are just a little bit different. Now that you’re one of the judges, would you go back with one of your former winners and dance again? Probably not. But I don’t know, season 30, anything’s possible. You mentioned you’re creating a platform for dancers to showcase their abilities. Is that part of your ABC deal? Or are you working on a show for you to star in? There is a show. I’m not allowed to officially announce anything, but I will say that there’s something in the works that I’m very, very, very excited about. It is a once in a lifetime project. When people ask what a dream project would be like, well, this it. It’s a huge challenge. Again, it’s a lot of joy, a lot of nostalgia, a lot of pure entertainment. But it is a massive, massive undertaking, I will say that. I’m excited to create it. Any plans to work with your sister, Julianne, again? Possibly. You’ve said that quarantine has brought you and girlfriend, Hayley Erbert, closer together. What has the quarantine been like for you? It’s interesting, I’m one of those people who the more I do something, the more I want to do it. Even me being home, the more I’m being home, the more I want to be home. It’s been good. Hayley and I have learned how to do so many different things—editing on the computer, we’ve been cooking more together, simple tasks around the house, doing a lot of gardening, doing some creative things. We got a new dog, which now tallies up to four animals. So you can imagine that that in itself has been pretty time-consuming, managing all the animals. When was the last time you surprised yourself? I surprised myself with my love and joy for gardening and just being outside and taking care of the yard. It became my morning ritual. I’d wake up in the morning first thing and I’d go tend to all the plants and water everything. I’m surprised by that. I didn’t think I was going to be that type of guy. My home that I built was on this barren wasteland, just like desert dust. Now it’s green with trees and plants. I’m turning it into a green haven. Next, Check Out These Throwback Photos of Dancing With the Stars Judges Bruno Tonioli and Derek Hough

Derek Hough Is Making an All New Dance Show That He Calls a  Dream Project  - 39