Who is Jeff Probst?

Jeff Probst is the host and executive producer of Survivor. His work has earned him four straight Emmy Awards for Outstanding Host for a Reality or Reality-Competition Program from 2008 to 2011. Prior to his breakout on the show, he also hosted Rock & Roll Jeopardy! from 1998 to 2001. He also wrote and directed the Lionsgate released film Finder’s Fee. From 2012 to 2013, Probst hosted The Jeff Probst Talk Show, a syndicated daytime talk show on CBS. He has also branched out into writing, helping pen the Scholastic children’s book series Stranded.

Is Jeff Probst leaving Survivor?

Luckily we don’t have to do any speculation as to what Probst’s future on Survivor looks like, as we can hear from the man himself! The host talked with Entertainment Weekly’s Dalton Ross about what his longevity for the show looks like in a recent interview.“The COVID break was a great Survivor reset for me,” he said. “Coming on the heels of Winners at War, which I loved, I was more tired than I realized. When we had to postpone our shoot, it gave me a chance to step back and once again reflect on all the things I absolutely love about this show.““It’s impossible to describe what Survivor represents to me. Impossible. It goes beyond creative expression or professional recognition. It’s much deeper. It’s right in line with the ideas I try to impress on our players. It’s about pushing myself further than I think I can go, about trying to stay in the moment and adapt to my surroundings, about being a good ’tribe member,’ about being open to new ideas and new people. The same opportunities Survivor offers the players, it offers me. I love Survivor and I still need Survivor.“So there you have it. According to Probst himself, he is perhaps more committed to Survivor now than ever!

Who would host Survivor if Jeff Probst left?

While Probst has established he’s not going anywhere any time soon, it has not stopped fans from engaging in the thought experiment of who would host the show if he left (and whether it would keep going). For the latter, it’s assumed Survivor would still survive. Despite Probst being the face of the franchise and playing such a large role in front of and behind the camera, the fact that the concept has produced dozens of versions outside of the United States shows that it can live on through multiple hosts.So that begs the question: Who would that new host be? The chalk pick for many would be a previous contestant like “Boston” Rob Mariano, Parvati Shallow, Andrea Boehlke, and Rob Cesternino. Not only would this group know and sympathize with the experience of the castaways, given they’ve gone through it multiple times themselves, but they all also went on to develop media personalities after their time on the show, giving them that essential camera training. Fans have also suggested celebrity fans of the show as possible hosts, such as Adam Scott and Neil Patrick Harris.Next, read our interview with Survivor 43 winner Mike Gabler.