Kotex shared the news on its website with vague messaging that simply reads, “We’re sorry. Security tampons are being discontinued,” before telling fans that the brand’s Click tampons “give you the same great protection!” In an exclusive statement to Parade.com, Kotex shared: U by Kotex® products are safe to use and follow all FDA regulations and guidelines. The decision to discontinue U by Kotex® Security tampons was strictly a business decision. Security fans can check out the rest of the Security product line up, including pads and liners, at their favorite retail outlet. Kotex then lists off the perks of using the compact Click tampons, including that they absorb like a full-size tampon, go from compact to full size in one step, are made for comfort, and have a convenient compact size. Security fans are not having it, and they’ve flooded Kotex’s website with complaints. “Your new Click suck,” one wrote. “I have tried the new ones that you [re]placed with the old ones. They are smaller and they do not go in like the others do. I have used several of them at this point and sad to say I will never buy your product again. I will find another company. I cannot believe that you don’t take care of your customers I have been using this for over 25 years.” Another fan said that Security tampons “are the only ones I can use!” They continued, “Kotex security tampons have been my brand for years—they are the only thing that has been able to stand up to my SUPER PLUS flow. I was dismayed when I went to my local retailer and discovered that they had been discontinued and replaced with the Click Compact, but I trusted Kotex, so I gave them a try. I’ll leave a review for them on the actual product, but they, in no way, give me ‘the same great protection’ as my Security tampons. Please reconsider this change.” A fellow reviewer begged Kotex not to discontinue the Security tampons. “I’ve been using these tampons for 20 years,” they said. “I hate all other tampons and am devastated that I will no longer be able to purchase these! The click and other brands are not the same for heavy flow. Please keep them on the market.” If you’re a U by Kotex Security fan, it’s more than understandable that you’d be upset. And, even if you’re not, you probably have some questions about what, exactly, is going on. Here’s what we know.

Why is Kotex discontinuing Security tampons?

Kotex didn’t say. However, there was a class-action lawsuit involving the Security tampons as well as several other U by Kotex tampons, including Click…which is still on the market. The $7 million lawsuit alleged that the impacted U by Kotex tampons unravel and come apart. In 2020, Kotex began paying U by Kotex customers up to $6 per box purchased and up to $30 total without proof of purchase. Those who had proof of purchase would be reimbursed their full retail cost above $30.

Can you still buy Kotex Security tampons?

“I am in the same boat,” another said. “I am 41 and these are the only ones I have ever been able to use that are comfortable and reliable. I’ve tried the genetic equivalent as well as the new Click it and neither worked as efficiently and were comfortable. Now I wish menopause to hurry on up.”

What tampons are similar to U by Kotex Security?

If you’re upset by U by Kotex Security being discontinued, it’s OK—and understandable. “Menstrual flow varies from woman to woman and from day to day for many people,” says women’s health expert Jennifer Wider, M.D. “Choosing a tampon or pad or cup can be very individualized process. The Security line by Kotex was very popular among women with heavy flow, and the application and absorption seemed to work very well for many women.” When it comes to looking for a replacement, Wider suggests trying a few products until you find a good fit. One good place to start? Many die-hard U by Kotex Security fans say that CVS Health’s Super Absorbency Plastic Tampons are similar enough, given that they also expand to fit your shape. Next, foods that help PMS.

Is Kotex Discontinuing Security Tampons  What happened to Kotex Security Tampons  - 47