“I think it’s never been more relevant. I have to try not to say to people, ‘Oh it’s like The Matrix!’ Every day,” says Carrie-Anne Moss, who plays Trinity in all four Matrix films. “I just think they’re just so deep and meaningful and have such relevance to what we’re dealing with right now with the way that we’re being manipulated by our phones and by technology and by the news outlets… I think TheMatrix really stood for that and really opened our eyes to that at a time when we could only think that would happen, and now, we’re actually living it. So, I think about it a lot, and the writing is so powerful and just a really—sometimes I call it a documentary.” The original Matrix, written and directed by the Wachowski siblings, made about $465 million worldwide.It starred Keanu Reeves as Thomas Anderson, a programmer by day, hacker by night who goes by the name Neo. For the fourth Matrix, there’s a few new faces in the franchise.Yahya Abdul-Mateen II will be taking over the role of Morpheus, originated by Laurence Fishburne. “This is definitely a different iteration of the character,” Abdul-Mateen said in an interview. “What the viewers will come to understand is that there are many rules of the Matrix. Age, appearance, the things we identify as real, can be manipulated in that world. The Matrix is where anything is possible.” Neil Patrick Harris, Christina Ricci, Priyanka Chopra Jonas and Hamilton’s Jonathan Groff also join the cast this time. Ready to get “red-pilled” and awaken to the Matrix franchise in all its glory? Here are 60 Matrix quotes from the films to get you back into that universe.

60 Matrix quotes

The Matrix (1999) quotes

  1. “Ever have that feeling where you’re not sure if you’re awake or dreaming?” - Neo
  2. “I know why you’re here, Neo. I know what you’ve been doing… why you hardly sleep, why you live alone, and why night after night, you sit by your computer. You’re looking for him.” - Trinity
  3. “Do you believe in fate, Neo?” - Morpheus
  4. “What is ‘real’? How do you define ‘real’? If you’re talking about what you can feel, what you can smell, taste and see then ‘real’ is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain.” - Morpheus
  5. “The Matrix is everywhere. It’s all around us.” - Morpheus
  6. “The answer is out there, Neo, and it’s looking for you, and it will find you if you want it to.” - Trinity
  7. “Unfortunately, no one can be told what the Matrix is. You have to see it for yourself. You take the blue pill, the story ends, you wake up in your bed. You take the red pill, you stay in wonderland, and I show you how deep the story goes.” - Morpheus
  8. “A déjà vu is usually a glitch in the Matrix. It happens when they change something.” - Trinity
  9. “Remember, all I’m offering is the truth. Nothing more." -  Morpheus
  10. “There’s something wrong with the world. You don’t know what, but it’s there. Like a splinter in your mind.” - Morpheus
  11. “Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment but you humans do not. You move to an area and you multiply and multiply until every natural resource is consumed and the only way you can survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer of this planet. You’re a plague and we are the cure.” - Agent Smith
  12. “You hear that Mr. Anderson? That is the sound of inevitability!" - Agent Smith
  13. “There is no spoon.” - Spoon Boy
  14. “What are you trying to tell me? That I can dodge bullets?” - Neo
  15. “To deny our own impulses is to deny the very thing that makes us human.” - Mouse
  16. “You know, I know this steak doesn’t exist. I know that when I put it in my mouth, the Matrix is telling my brain that it is juicy and delicious.” - Cypher
  17. “Did you know that the first Matrix was designed to be a perfect human world? Where none suffered, where everyone would be happy. It was a disaster. No one would accept the program. Entire crops were lost. Some believed we lacked the programming language to describe your perfect world. But I believe that, as a species, human beings define their reality through suffering and misery. The perfect world was a dream that your primitive cerebrum kept trying to wake up from." - Agent Smith
  18. “What’s really going to bake your noodle later on is, would you still have broken it if I hadn’t said anything?” - The Oracle
  19. “Neo, sooner or later you’re going to realize just as I did that there’s a difference between knowing the path and walking the path.” - Morpheus
  20. “The body cannot live without the mind.” - Morpheus
  21. “Shoot, shoot now, if you don’t, he’ll kill us both.” - Trinity
  22. “I do not believe it to be a matter of hope, it is simply a matter of time.” - Morpheus
  23. “What do all men with power want? More power” - The Oracle
  24. “I know Kung Fu!” - Neo
  25. “Neo, Morpheus sacrificed himself so we could get you out. There is no way you’re going back in.” - Trinity
  26. “I don’t like the idea that I’m not in control of my own life.” - Neo
  27. “You have a problem with authority, Mr. Anderson. You believe you are special, that somehow the rules do not apply to you. Obviously, you are mistaken.” - Rinehart
  28. “Choice is an illusion created between those with power and those without.” - Merovingian
  29. “I believe that Morpheus means more to me than he does to you. I believe if you are really serious about rescuing him, you are going to need my help.” - Trinity
  30. “You have to understand, most people are not ready to be unplugged.” - Morpheus
  31. “Never send a human to do a machine’s job.” - Agent Smith
  32. “You have to let it all go, Neo. Fear, doubt, and disbelief. Free your mind.” - Morpheus
  33. “Dodge this.” - Trinity
  34. “Neo, I’m not afraid anymore. The Oracle told me that I would fall in love and that that man… the man that I loved would be The One.” - Trinity
  35. “I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid… you’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change.” - Neo
  36. “I’ll show these people what you don’t want them to see. A world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible.  Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.” - Neo

The Matrix: Reloaded (2003) quotes

  1. “What happened happened and couldn’t have happened any other way.” - Morpheus
  2. “All of our lives, we have fought this war.” - Morpheus
  3. “If I were you, I would hope we don’t meet again.” - Neo
  4. “Go ahead, Shoot. The best thing about being me, is there so many mes!” - Agent Smith
  5. “He’s doin’ his Superman thing.” - Link
  6. “I have dreamed a dream, but now that dream is gone from me.” - Morpheus
  7. “I envy you. But such a thing is not meant to last.” - Persephone
  8. “We all well know that the reason that most of us are here is because of our… affinity for disobedience.” - Morpheus
  9. “You are here because Zion is about to be destroyed. Its every living inhabitant terminated, its entire existence eradicated.” -The Architect
  10. “Zion, hear me! It is true, what many of you have heard. The machines have gathered an army and as I speak, that army is drawing nearer to our home.” - Morpheus
  11. “Trinity. I know you can hear me. I’m never letting go. I can’t. I just love you too damn much.” - Neo

The Matrix Revolutions (2003) quotes

  1. “I wish you could see yourself, Mr. Anderson. Blind Messiah, helpless. Pathetic.” - Bane
  2. “If that’s true, then I’ve made a mistake, and you should kill me now.” - Neo
  3. “Why, Mr. Anderson? Why? Why do you persist?” - Agent Smith
  4. “The program Smith has grown beyond your control…You cannot stop him… but I can.” - Neo
  5. “I think you’re gonna have to drive.” - Neo
  6. “Still don’t recognize me? I admit it is difficult to even think encased in this rotting piece of meat. The stink of it filling every breath, a suffocating cloud you can’t escape. Disgusting. How pathetically fragile it is. Nothing this weak is meant to survive.” -Bane
  7. “One way or another, Neo, this war is going to end. Tonight, the future of both worlds will be in your hands… or in his.” - Oracle
  8. “There are only two possible explanations: either no one told me, or no one knows.” - Neo 
  9. “Six hours ago, I was ready to give my life for you. Do you know what has changed in the last six hours?” - Trinity
  10. “I don’t know what he can do to save us. But I do know that as long as there is a single breath left in his body, he will not give up and neither can we.” - Morpheus
  11. “You wanna make a deal? How about this? You give me Neo or we all die, right here, right now.” - Trinity
  12. “I do not resent my karma - I’m grateful for it. Grateful for my wonderful wife, for my beautiful daughter. They are gifts. And so I do what I must do to honour them.” - Rama-Kandra
  13. “I have imagined this moment for a long time. Is it real?” - Morpheus Next, ‘Never Tell Me the Odds’! The 25 Best Harrison Ford Movie Quotes of All Time 

Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 85Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 13Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 73Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 5Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 74Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 37Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 31Matrix Quotes  Neo  Morpheus  Agent Smith And Trinity Quotes - 87