Whether you became a diehard fan of the show in 2020 or you’re just ready to dive into the world of Devi and her pals’ inner voices, here’s everything you need to know about the second season of Never Have I Ever.

What is Never Have I Ever about?

Never Have I Ever centers around Devi Vishwakumar, an Indian American high school student struggling to cope with the death of her father and her own psychological problems while also striving to get into Princeton University and lose her virginity. In Season 2, Devi also struggles with jealousy after a new Desi girl, Aneesa, enrolls at her high school and takes away some of her attention (and her crushes’ affections). Ramakrishnan recently said of the beef between the girls, “You understand where Devi’s coming from. She’s trying to make her mark. She’s got her own baggage; she’s got s**t that she’s dealing with.”

What role does Mindy Kaling have in Never Have I Ever?

Kalingco-wrote and co-created Never Have I Ever with Lang Fisher, with whom she also worked on The Mindy Project. In 2020, Kaling toldThe New York Timesof her coming-of-age series, “Netflix was open to us doing it as something set in the ’80s or the ’90s, but I’d seen that done so well with shows likeFresh Off the Boat andEverybody Hates Chris. I really wanted to speak to kids now. I also thought it would be a really great way to hire a lot of young Indian-American writers who can remember their teenage years more recently than me and fill our staff with them.”

Who plays Devi in Never Have I Ever?

Ramakrishnan stars as Devi Vishwakumar in Never Have I Ever, and it’s her first professional acting role. Kaling gushed toThe Los Angeles Timesof the new star, “To go from being the lead in your school play to shooting 12 hours a day, five days a week on a Hollywood set, with rehearsals on the weekend, was a big transition for her, but Maitreyi’s work ethic was incredible. We had several days of night shoots for the pilot, and Maitreyi is in every scene. Her cheerful and psyched attitude through that was truly amazing.” Ramakrishnan told the LA Times she learned pretty quickly that she wanted to be an actress after getting cast in a small part in her school production of Footloose by chance, and that she considered being a Disney animator as a career. “I didn’t take drama as a class even. Literally, it was not on my radar. The drama teacher just needed more people … We’re a pretty small school. I did it and I loved it,” she said of the play. “I always knew I was going to do something in the arts. In high school, as soon as I could drop my sciences, I dropped them so fast. I was like, ‘Goodbye, bio. See you later, chem. Never liked you, physics.’ What I realized is, I would spend hours and hours on rehearsals after school. By the end of high school, I knew acting was the way.”

Who is in the rest of the Never Have I Ever cast?

The rest of the stellar cast includes Darren Barnet, Ramona Young, Lee Rodriguez, Poorna Jagannathan, Martin Martinez, Christina Kartchner, Jack Seavor McDonald, Benjamin Norris, Jaren Lewison, Adam Shapiro and Richa Moorjani. All of these actors, who comprised the main cast in Season 1, are back for Season 2. Season 2 also features newcomers Megan Suri as Aneesa, rapper Common as Chris and Tyler Alvarez as Malcolm.

Is there a Never Have I Ever Season 2 trailer?

Yep, here you go!

How did Maitreyi Ramakrishnan get the part?

Kaling says that because the character of Devi was based largely on herself, she didn’t want to use the average Bollywood stunner for the role, and instead posted an open casting call on social media for Devi and her family. “With Maitreyi, there was something about her. She later said that she was very intimidated to fly to L.A. to come audition, but when she spoke to us, she had natural confidence. I really loved that she was Tamil, which I am also,” Kalingsaid of the casting. “Also, I think about colorism a lot, and I liked that she wasn’t like this red-haired, green-eyed, pale-skinned Indian girl. I liked that she looked a little bit more like someone that would be in my family. She also was just naturally funny.” Ramakrishnanadmitted that she and her friends answered the casting call with zero expectations. “We went to the library community center because it’s the only place we knew that had blank walls. I definitely did not think anything would happen from it because I really only saw it as time I got to hang out with my best friend. I mean, this is a worldwide casting call. This is Mindy Kaling, who has a bajillion followers. There’s people with real credentials and real experience.”

Who plays Paxton in Never Have I Ever?

Barnet plays Paxton in Never Have I Ever. His previous credits include a young Jack on This Is Us, and he’ll also appear in the fifth installment of the American Pie franchise, American Pie: Girls’ Rules, as well as in the seventh and final season of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Is John McEnroe in Never Have I Ever?

John McEnroenarrates the first season of Never Have I Everand makes a cameo in the Season 1 finale. We know, it sounds random but it’s actually not! “One thing that’s common for a lot of Indian parents is a love of tennis. It’s like an English Anglophile kind of thing,” Kaling told USA Today. “When we decided that the character of Devi would have a temper, the McEnroe thing just kept coming back: you know, someone who’s high-achieving but is undermined by their own temper. He has really high standards for himself and everyone around him. We kept talking about him and were like, ‘Wait, should he be doing the narration?’ Devi’s dad loved tennis, and it timed out that he would have grown up watching McEnroe.” McEnroe reprises his role in Season 2’s first episode.

Is Chrissy Teigen in Never Have I Ever?

Chrissy Teigen was slated to narrate an episode dedicated to Paxton’s backstory. However, after Teigen received widespread backlash for bullying Courtney Stodden on Twitter, Teigen stepped away from the role, which eventually went to supermodel Gigi Hadid.

How can I watch or stream Never Have I Ever online and on TV?

Never Have I Ever is streaming on Netflix only.

How many Never Have I Ever Season 2 episodes are there?

There are 10 episodes of the second season of Never Have I Ever, just as there were in the first. All of the show’s 20 episodes are now available to stream on Netflix. Need more laughs?These are the funniest shows on Netflix right now.

Never Have I Ever Season 2  Trailer  Cast  How to Watch - 78