“Call it divine intervention, but the idea popped into my head that if Anna Karenina were to be told in modern day, it would need to be teenagers,” Lee says. “Having lived in New York City, I realized that Manhattan would be a great stand-in for Moscow and Greenwich, Conn., would work beautifully for St. Petersburg—with a train connecting them!” Lee’s sequel, Anna K Away, thrusts readers into the aftermath of a sex tape and the tragic death of Anna’s ex, while the eponymous heroine heads to South Korea with her father to connect with family. “I changed the ending of Anna K from the original,” Lee says. “It’s still a tragedy, but this time I gave Anna a chance to learn that one mistake does not have to define you.” Over one summer abroad, we see a continuation of Anna’s journey through unprecedented grief and self-discovery. But don’t worry, you’ll still get the extravagant parties, retail therapy and love lives of her circle of friends. Inspired by Lee’s modern adaptation of the 19th century Leo Tolstoy novel, we asked her about the other classics on her shelves, the books she’s recommending most and which titles she’s most excited for this summer.

How would you describe your personal library?

Large! My husband and I are both writers and huge readers, and we buy lots and lots of books. My favorite piece of furniture I own is a massive triple wide library bookshelf from Restoration Hardware, and then we have four more bookshelves, and we still need more space for our books. We have a wide variety of genres; I enjoy reading all types of fiction and have a tendency to go in phases—right now, I’m re-reading Dune and delving into a lot of fantasy. During the pandemic, I was looking for an escape, so I wanted to read about exciting new worlds.

What three books are you most excited for this summer?

Nicola Yoon’s Instructions for Dancing, Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and Sally Rooney has a new book coming [Beautiful World, Where Are You?] and I’m begging everyone I know for an advanced reader’s copy!

My To Be Read stack is out of control right now. But next up for me is Zadie Smith’s Grand Union short story collection. And in YA, Tracy Deonn’s Legendborn—so many people have recommended it to me!

Which books or characters have stayed with you throughout your life? Any classics you return to?

Of course, Anna Karenina. All of Beverly Cleary’s characters. I’ve read Ribsy so many times. The Box Car Children series. The Trumpet of the Swan! And of course, Judy Blume’s Forever (Katherine, Michael and Theo).

Which genres do you most enjoy?

I really read every type of fiction. I guess the ones I read the most are literary fiction and escapist thrillers. My favorite genre is probably a good short story. I am very into a captured moment of a slice of life.

What book do you recommend most to friends?

I feel that many people don’t read short stories, so to get friends interested in them, I always recommend one of my favorite authors, Lorrie Moore. She’s a master at short fiction.

What would you say was the last great book that you read?

When I read Lily King’s Writers & Loverslast year, I immediately bought the audiobook and started listening to it again on the treadmill. I really thought it was a wonderful depiction of a writer’s life.

What’s a book with a couple that you couldn’t stop thinking about after?

Normal People by Sally Rooney. I read the book, watched the TV show, read the scripts of the TV show and am now rereading the book again! I’ve come full circle with Marianne and Connell. Next, check out best mystery books.

On Her Shelf   Anna K Away  Author Jenny Lee on the Sequel to Her Scandalous  Modern  em Anna Karenina  em  - 99On Her Shelf   Anna K Away  Author Jenny Lee on the Sequel to Her Scandalous  Modern  em Anna Karenina  em  - 95