Here at Parade.com, we’re all about sharing products we love with our audience. When you make a purchase on an item seen on this page, we may earn a commission, however, all picks are independently chosen unless otherwise mentioned. The benefits:

Strategically-placed vents promise a faster blowout and less damage.Has a lightweight design so your hands won’t cramp up mid-blow-dry.Three temperature settings (cool/medium/high) allow for customized styling of all hair types. I tend to avoid hot since it burns my scalp and hair.

The tryout: The instructions say that you can use on damp or dry hair. I followed the instructions and after shampooing and towel-drying my hair, I very gently detangled. And here’s where the usage differs slightly; you’re supposed to divide hair into (large) sections. Unlike traditional hair dryers, you place the Double Shot underneath each section and then work slowly from root to ends until each section is dry.  The takeaways: It’s a go! I styled my hair in less than 10 minutes and found the process to be far less time-consuming than blowdrying and using my straightener. Here’s a tip—a leave-in conditioner helped my straight hair look shinier.  While not exactly the same tool as the Dry Bar brush, the Revlon One-Step Volumizer Hair Dryer is another fan favorite for the blow-on-the-go crowd. Price: The One-Step originally costs $59.99, or about a third of the cost of the Double Shot.  The benefits:

An oval brush design with round edges. One to smooth, the other for volume.2 heat/speed settings for styling flexibility with a “cool” option. Unlike conventional hair dryers, this volumizer can be placed closer to the scalp for lift.

The tryout: Super easy to use, the one-step ran smoothly over my hair and dried it pretty quickly. Only problem? I found the noise on this one to be a bit too loud. Great product, but I wish the screeching was less. The verdict: Whichever of the two you choose, you really can’t go wrong. While I think the Revlon One-Step is great money-wise, my vote is ultimately for the Drybar Blowdry Brush. Up next, How To Color Your Hair at Home.

Revlon One Step Volumizer and Drybar Blow Dry Brush Comparison - 18Revlon One Step Volumizer and Drybar Blow Dry Brush Comparison - 21