The movie, which is streaming on Netflix, explores Twain’s Lyme disease diagnosis after being bitten by a tick while horseback riding in 2003. She acknowledged that for years after, she faced difficulties with her voice. Putting it simply, Twain said, “My voice was never the same again.”  This led her to question her future in music, with the 56-year-old admitting in the documentary: “I thought I’d lost my voice forever. I thought that was it, [and] I would never, ever sing again.” The Canadian singer took a hiatus from her singing career between 2005, when she released singles like “Don’t!” and “I Ain’t No Quitter,” and 2011, when she put out the single “Today Is Your Day.”  After her 2002 album, Up!, Twain didn’t release a full album again until 2017’s Now.  In the documentary, Twain also described the symptoms she had immediately after the tick bite, saying, “My symptoms were quite scary because, before I was diagnosed, I was on stage, very dizzy. I was losing my balance. I was afraid I was going to fall off the stage.”  She continued, “I was having these very, very, very millisecond blackouts, but regularly, every minute or every 30 seconds.” According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), symptoms of Lyme disease commonly include “fever, headache, fatigue, and a characteristic skin rash called erythema migrans. If left untreated, infection can spread to joints, the heart, and the nervous system.”  It was a few weeks before Twain started treatment, and during that time, the disease affected the nerves connected to her vocal cords, as Twain confirmed during an interview on The View in 2020. But it took about a decade for neurologists to finally connect her voice issues with Lyme disease.  While she notes that her voice definitely changed because of the disease, Twain is still pursuing her love of music, with the release of a compilation album called Not Just a Girl (The Highlights) accompanying the film.  The album has a new song called Not Just A Girl, alongside many of her hit songs in order of appearance in the documentary, with Variety reporting the full tracklist.  More Entertainment:

Chris Rock Finally Responds To Infamous Will Smith Oscars Slap Why ‘Late Night with Seth Meyers’ Is Canceled for Rest of the Week Candace Cameron Bure Explains What Happened Between Her and Jojo Siwa