But Biles bounced back on balance beam, earning her second consecutive Olympic bronze in that event—plus, she received tons of love and support from a very special someone back home: her boyfriend of nearly a year and a half, Jonathan Owens. Since the Summer Games, it seems that life with Owens has only grown sweeter for Biles. In fact, as she revealed on Feb. 15, 2022, Owens capped off what was surely a romantic Valentine’s Day for the couple with an extra-amazing token of his love: An engagement ring! “Woke up a fiancée!” Biles captioned several pics of his proposal. “I can’t wait to spend forever & ever with you, you’re everything I dreamed of and more! let’s get married!” Get to know Owens, Simone Biles’ fiancée—a.k.a. the man who’s leapt his way into the iconic athlete’s heart.

Who is Simone Biles engaged to?

The 24-year-old Olympic star met her match in 26-year-old NFL star Owens, who plays safety for the Houston Texans. He grew up in the St. Louis area and played Division II college football at Missouri Western University, where he majored in pre-physical therapy with dreams of becoming a doctor—and, in his final year, was named the school’s Male Student-Athlete of the Year. According to Owens’ old MWSU athlete profile, his favorite dessert is cheesecake, his favorite TV show is Martin and his favorite candy is Sour Worms; that last one’s something he and Biles have in common, as she told Health earlier this year, “My weakness is cookies or sour candy.” Owens has also said that the person who’s had the most influence on his life is his mom. Awww! 

What has Jonathan Owens said about Simone Biles?

Several hours after Biles’ decision to withdraw from the team finals at the 2020 Games, Owens shared a quote on his Instagram Story attributed to BabeRuth that seemed to be his way of sending a message to any haters out there. “The loudest BOOS will always come from the cheap seats,” it read. “People who invest the least in you will have the most to say about you. Trust your work and keep your circle tight!” When Biles shared her own post on Instagram of the team wearing their silver medals, he commented on the post: “I’m so proud of y’all” with a red heart emoji. A couple days later, after Biles then withdrew from the All-Around finals, Owens made it even more clear in a followup post that he’s got Biles’ back no matter what. “Imma ride with you through whatever baby,” he wrote on Instagram. “Your strength and courage is unmatched and you inspire me more and more everyday… You always gone be my champ baby and don’t you ever forget that, I love you so much and I can’t wait till you come home and I get to see that beautiful smile again. You know I’m always here for you baby.” After her third-place finish on beam, Owens gushed on his Instagram Story, “Words can’t explain how proud I am of you right now!” Owens has also shared at length in the past about how much he loves his gymnast beau. “Her energy is something. She’s always happy, giggly, bubbly," he told TexasMonthly earlier this year. “If I’ve had a tough day at the office, I wouldn’t want to take that home to her. Her personality, man …” He also told the outlet about their romance, “This was a match made in heaven. There’s no better person for me. She loves me, she’s so affectionate. I just love that. And it’s just intoxicating seeing how much work she puts into everything.”

When did Simone Biles meet her fiancé Jonathan Owens?

In June 2021, Health stated that Biles and Owens had been dating for “about a year,” but it’s been a little longer than that. According to Texas Monthly, “Simone Biles and Jonathan Owens met on social media just as the COVID-19 lockdown was beginning, in March 2020.”

Where did Simone Biles and Jonathan Owens meet?

In many ways, their relationship is a pandemic love story. When the 2020 Tokyo Olympics were postponed last year due to COVID-19, Biles had time to browse the celebrity dating app Raya. When she came across Owens’ profile, she thought he was “pretty cute.” Who made first contact? “He would say I slid into his DMs,” Biles would later say. “I saw that he was in the Houston area, so we started chatting a little bit, and then we went to hang out a week or two later,” she told The Wall Street Journal. Biles’ sister AdriaBiles helped nudge things along when she grabbed her big sister’s phone during a conversation with Owens and invited him on a family trip. The family liked Owens so much that he agreed to start attending the family’s Sunday dinners. Both Biles and Owens agree that, for their romance,  the pandemic has been a bit of a blessing in disguise. “It was one of the few times in her life where everything was just shut off and she couldn’t do anything. So we used it to get to know each other — really get to know each other,” Owens told Texas Monthly. “It created our bond and made it stronger.” Biles told PEOPLE about the past year, “What’s been really exciting is being able to experience life with my family and friends. Getting to go to my boyfriend’s [NFL] games. I told him that I’ve never been to so many games in a season in my life. Because usually, I’m so busy and all over the place."

Did Jonathan Owens know Simone Biles before they started dating?

If you can believe it, Owens says he was unaware he was chatting with a “G.O.A.T.” when they matched online. “When I met her, I honestly didn’t know who she was,” he says in Biles’ Facebook docuseries Simone vs. Herself. Turns out, that was a plus in Biles’ book. “When I told her that, that’s one of the things she liked,” he told TexasMonthly in June. Getting to know the gymnast has been inspiring for the football player. “The coolest thing for me is that I get to witness someone who is literally in the pinnacle of their sport,” he says in the docuseries. “It’s motivating to see that and the impact that she has on people. We were walking past this group of girls, and they were shaking, ‘Oh my god, it’s Simone!’ This is when I kind of knew. Like, okay, yeah, she’s the real deal.”

When did Simone Biles and Jonathan Owens go public with their relationship?

While The Shade Room raised eyebrows about the pair in July 2020 when Biles wished Owens a happy birthday, the couple weren’t Instagram-official until a month later. “It’s just us,” she captioned a happy selfie of the twosome. Since then, they’ve shared tons of cute pics and messages to each other on social media. In June, when Biles qualified for the U.S. Women’s Gymnastics team for the Tokyo Olympics, Owens posted a pic of the two on his Instagram Story that shows him wearing the same “Team Biles” shirt her family wore to support her. Although she was already in Tokyo for the Olympics when Owens’ 26th birthday came along on July 22, she celebrated by posting several pics of the two together along with an adorable b-day message. “I love you so much. Can’t wait to celebrate you when I get home!” the gymnast said. “Not sure how I got so lucky [and] what I’d do without you! But I hope you have the best day ever. Not too much fun without me [though] hahaha. Forever yours, S.”

Who has Simone Biles dated before?

In 2017, at the age of 20, Biles made the surprising admission that she hadn’t seriously dated anyone yet. “I have never had a boyfriend in my life," she told Entertainment Tonight. “At 20 years old I feel like you should have gone through those things and gone on dates. I have been on, like, maybe one proper date.”  That soon changed, as Biles started dating fellow gymnast Stacey Ervin Jr. that year. Her grandmother hired Ervin to work at her gym and they hit it off, but the two had known each other since 2014 when they’d met at the P&G Gymnastics Championships. Biles and Ervin split in March 2020, not long before she met Owens. “It’s hard being young and having that long of a relationship and then ending it,” she said in an interview with Vogue. “But it was for the best.”

Is Simone Biles competitive with her fiancé Jonathan Owens?

The fact that both Biles and Owens are athletes has apparently only helped strengthen their bond. “We really understand each other and I think that’s why our relationship has been seamless,” Biles told Hoda Kotb on Today. In another interview, she said Owens is “actually the hardest working athlete I know.” Still, “we definitely get in fights all the time about which sport is harder, and it just makes us really angry so we try not to talk about it. We’re always supporting each other. But then at the end of the day we’re still people.”

Is Simone Biles married?

There’s no word yet on when a wedding might take place, but it seems merging households won’t be much of a problem whenever that happens, as Owens and Biles reportedly live together in Spring, Texas. Even their bulldogs were ready to co-habitate before Owens popped the question. “I’ll show up at her house,” Owens told Texas Monthly in June 2021, “and her dogs will peek around her looking for my dog. They’ve become best friends.” The dogs might be even closer today,  “He’s a real man. I just, I love him,” Biles said on Today. “We have a great time together. Our personalities match right up. We have the same sense of humor. And he’s just great.”  Owen is just as loveydovey about Biles, telling TexasMonthly, “This was a match made in heaven. There’s no better person for me. She loves me, she’s so affectionate. I just love that.” Next, find out how much Team USA Olympians make for winning medals! 

Simone Biles  Fianc   NFL Player Jonathan Owens  How They Met  Proposal  More - 18