That’s why Swisher and her husband, retired Major League Baseball All-Star Nick Swisher, are partnering with longtime family favorite McAlister’s Deli to give out cooking tips on Thanksgiving Eve. (On Wednesday, Nov. 24 from 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. ET, just call the hotline at 1-833-McA-HOST and you might find a Swisher on the other end of the line! JoAnna and Nick have plenty of tricks and tips to share this time of year. Their one big piece of advice: Things don’t have to be perfect. “Things can be messy because that’s life and that’s real,” JoAnna exclusively tells Parade.com “So, I don’t torture myself to be the perfect Suzy Homemaker; that is not my jam. It is the time spent together that is very important to me.” Also known for her role on TV’s Reba and Hallmark’s Irish romance As Luck Would Have It, JoAnna added that her biggest holiday prep tip is not to let everything fall on your shoulders, even if you are in charge of the holiday cooking and baking. “It’s about asking for help, and having people join forces,” she explains. “I think everybody really wants to participate, and so when you allow everybody to do that, it takes a few things off your plate and makes for an easier, and more enjoyable, day for everyone." Keep reading to find out more about the Swishers’ favorite holiday traditions and what JoAnna says will go down in Sweet Magnolias Season 2!

Why was this partnership with McAlister’s Deli a good fit for both of you?

JoAnna: I grew up going to McAlister’s Deli, so I was delighted to do anything with them. But it’s the holidays and we’re really excited about hosting which is our thing. So, when McAlister’s Deli asked us to partner with them, we thought why not join forces with a company that is synonymous with incredible hospitality?

What are a couple of your go-to deli picks?

JoAnna: We each have our favorites. Nick actually taught me this, so I am all about working smarter not harder. They have this incredible cheesecake, their double fudge Godiva cheesecake that we created this crazy milkshake out of. Nick: How good was that? JoAnna: It’s actually pretty dangerous. So, it’s nice to be able to pop down to your local McAlister’s Deli, grab some delicious items, and be able to incorporate that into a special element while you’re hosting. I also love the broccoli cheddar soup.

What do the two of you and your daughters do during the holidays that’s your special thing? 

JoAnna: We have some old traditions, but we’ve really tried to talk to our girls about creating new traditions. Emmy, our oldest, is really excited about that. I believe that having the kids get involved is such an important part of this because they feel like they’re shaping the culture of their family. We have a really big kickball game that we do on Christmas Eve every year. Which as you would imagine is highly competitive. There is this leather wrestling belt the MVP gets. Right now, it’s currently held by our oldest daughter. And the winning team gets a trophy. I must say I haven’t been as victorious as I would like. But I feel like luck is going to be on my side this year. Nick: Listen, the last couple of years [during the pandemic] has been hard on everybody and we haven’t been able to see our loved ones as much as we would have liked. So, just to be able to get everyone together once again, to enjoy, whether it’s two hours together or more. I know it’s hard for everybody to travel on the holidays but I think for myself now, being retired and being able to be at home is making me realize how important my family is to me. And not really realizing how much we’ve all missed out on. For me, it’s about being able to share the hospitality in the Swisher home with our friends and family. Because at the end of the day that’s all you got. To be able to enjoy, whether it’s a holiday, a picnic, or whatever it is, and to be able to do it together is what means the most to us.

Do your daughters enjoy tree trimming or hot cocoa in front of a Christmas movie? Are there specific things that they really enjoy during the holidays?

JoAnna: They are the most nostalgic kids. They want to do it all. This year we’re doing a little white elephant party with the kids in our neighborhood and they are looking forward to that. We always decorate our family Christmas tree the day after Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving always coincides with Nick’s birthday and my mother-in-law’s birthday. So, this year is a big birthday for my mother-in-law, so we have a lot to celebrate. We love Thanksgiving. When McAlister’s Deli came to us and asked us if we wanted to join forces to be a part of their holiday hosting hotline, I wanted to do it because time spent together is so important. So, to be able to get out of the kitchen and simplify things really appeals to us.

Do you have any new holiday traditions this year?

JoAnna: Yes. We have a few tricks up our sleeve. We are going for a ride to look at holiday lights in a stretch limo because for some reason our children think that’s the coolest thing in the world. So, we found someone to be able to do that as our gift to them, so we’re excited about that.

Nick, how are you enjoying retirement?

Nick: Just the fact that I’m able to be home and to be with my family every day is such a blessing. I never realized how much I would love being a dad and being at home to enjoy all of this stuff. JoAnn and I are coming on 11 years [of marriage] and in fact, are going strong. I am blessed to be able to have that in my life. My girls have possibly softened me up in all the right spots because I feel like I’m the best version of myself right now. As an athlete, you have such a one-track mind and everything is so centered around you. Since I retired, I’ve quickly realized it’s not about me.

JoAnna, I have to ask if you can share any Sweet Magnolias spoilers for our readers?

JoAnna: I will say there are many jaw-dropping moments in Season 2; it truly does not disappoint. I think it’s even more fun and juicy than the first season. But then in the middle, you don’t realize that you’re in it. There were a few moments during filming where I was like, ‘Wow, we are really just going for it here.’ And I thought, ‘People are going to actually start to be angry that we’re taking them on this ride.’ I don’t want to oversell it, but I will say a lot does happen. It’s a really fun season and it definitely will leave you gasping at times.

We have been told 2022, but there is still no release date, correct?

JoAnna: I feel like Sweet Magnolias is now going to be synonymous with torturing people. I think it’s pretty safe that you can bet on very early 2022, you’re going to be able to start bingeing Season 2. And it will be worth the wait.

You can tell me there’ll be a lot of drinking and girl bonding, right?

JoAnna: There will definitely be a lot of drinking and girl bonding. I think you get to see those female friendships are obviously so important to me and celebrated in this show. And we do really shine a light on the realities of it. You’ll see that we’re going through real-life things and riding a rollercoaster. There’s a lot; emotions run high. Brooke [Elliott], and Heather [Headley], and I, are all so much closer now than when we started even though we had that instant love and chemistry.  So, we really kind of dive in a little bit more. So, those margarita nights feel a little bit more intense, more meaningful, all of the above.  And it’s not boring in Serenity; that’s for sure.

So, are there things that each of you does to de-stress during the holidays?

JoAnna: Yeah, I think just letting the pressure off. I talk about this a lot on The Happy Place, it does not have to be Pinterest perfect. It’s about making things simple and bringing them back to the basics. How do you make people feel during the holidays rather than the big extravagance of all of those things?  And all of the little things you do can make your day easier. But remember, it can be real and it can be messy. I feel it’s about just releasing those expectations. Nick: I’ve noticed over the last couple of years that it’s not about you. It’s about your family, it’s about your kids, and about them enjoying everything. If you can really understand that, I think that will make the holidays a lot better for you and everyone else.

Will you take time to chill during the holidays, with all the hosting going on?

JoAnna: We have a big first quarter of 2022, and so I’m going to start dipping my toe into celebrating that. I have a little bit of work to do, but for the most part, we are going to be together. Nick: I feel like she can’t get rid of me now. I feel like I’m at home all the time. We’re really excited because the holidays are some of our favorite times. As Jo alluded to earlier, we lost some beloved family members over the last couple of years. So, we realize how fortunate we are to have people in our lives that we do, and we want to enjoy the holidays with them as much as we can. I think 2022 is going to be the best year for my wife and her journey and I am really proud of her. I can’t wait! JoAnna: He is a keeper. Season 1 of Sweet Magnolias is currently streaming on Netflix To reach McAlister’s Deli Holiday Hosting Hotline go to (1-833-McA-HOST) Next, for more holiday help, check out these 6 Holiday Entertaining Hacks!

Sweet Magnolias Season 2 Spoilers From JoAnna Garcia Swisher - 29Sweet Magnolias Season 2 Spoilers From JoAnna Garcia Swisher - 23Sweet Magnolias Season 2 Spoilers From JoAnna Garcia Swisher - 58Sweet Magnolias Season 2 Spoilers From JoAnna Garcia Swisher - 54