Well, I can now say these TikTok hair hacks are 100% worthy of your time. See my faves!

TikTok Hair Hacks

Don’t wash your hair every day. I get it—this has been discussed for a long time. The claim is washing your hair every day will strip it of its natural oils and dry it out. I work out every day so I felt it would be gross not to wash my hair after exercising, but I figured if there was any time to walk around with dirty hair, it would be during a global pandemic. My hair feels great only washing it two days a week, I condition it regularly but there is a big difference in how my hair feels now that I cut back in washing it. Many people discuss how hard water and hot water will also negatively impact your hair, which is something I am working towards. https://www.tiktok.com/@aisha.jam/video/6930602456732765446?_d=secCgYIASAHKAESMgowB2bXmsC4xifH7gkDYqum4Uq6lPmUcV0IKULhu4WMB8zgYRlJH83x5hvjJdUGXGvnGgA%3D&checksum=7cfe357eb8da256a59eca405be05035545af71a34bd9d9e5ba61585e0fbc2c47&language=en&preview_pb=0&sec_user_id=MS4wLjABAAAAz9MhzRl8gG8_YMsicz9vCVQZUn-3GZSNNvwUu82KfTCPMOIUsp-DDJ3i67EwcHjr&share_app_id=1233&share_item_id=6930602456732765446&share_link_id=633003C1-4061-43CC-BD06-B774CBAE18C9&source=h5_m×tamp=1622640654&tt_from=copy&u_code=di3m6hb99ed1d9&user_id=6950717934521009158&utm_campaign=client_share&utm_medium=ios&utm_source=copy&_r=1 Wash your hair the right way: Oh yes, my mind was blown when I learned I have been washing my hair wrong my whole life. According to the world of TikTok, shampoo is only meant for your scalp and roots, there is no need to lather your ends with shampoo.  After thoroughly washing your head, with a lot less soap than I have been originally using, you then go in with conditioner for your ends to the mid-shaft of your hair. I still feel like my hair is clean when I get out of the shower, and I’m no longer going through globs of conditioner. Invest in shampoo: So I really wanted the world to be wrong, I wanted to try this fancy shampoo and conditioner only to learn this one-time purchase was a waste, sadly I’m mistaken. I was really impressed with how the product lathers, which means a little product goes a long way. I love the smell and there is no doubt how soft my hair feels after one use.Olaplex No.5 Bond Maintenance Conditioner, 8.5 Fl Oz Brush your hair when it’s dry: Since I have semi-curly hair, I have heard a lot about brushing my hair. Most of the recommendations are to only use a hair pick when you first get out of the shower and then don’t touch it. I have learned a few tricks through the TikTok elite. First, I’ve learned to never brush your hair wet—when your hair is wet, it is at its weakest point, brushing could lead to excessive breakage. Also don’t just put a brush to your hair and go down, you should be very intentional, focusing on your ends first and then working up. Brushing your hair can help with more than just reducing tangles, it can help increase hair growth and more evenly distribute your hair’s natural oils. Heat protectant is your friend: I’m beginning to consider heat protectant the moisturizer of haircare—it should be applied every day, regardless of how you plan to style it or not style it. This was an excellent video that really shows how these products make a huge difference. After seeing this trend I will admit I have not tried spritzing my bread with a heat protectant before toasting, but I am a visual learner and I have increased my use of these products. Sleep with your hair protected: I sleep like I’m a crime fighter with criminals coming at me from all sides, and in the morning, my hair will tell you all about that night’s adventures. If you are like me, you probably put your hair through a lot while you toss and turn, so loosely tying it back will help prevent breakage. There are several different recommended ways to tie it back, but the key point is to keep the style loose. Avoid tight ponytails: While ponytails and messy buns have always been a staple for my hair, especially on those days you just don’t want to do anything fancy, some Tik Tok videos can illustrate exactly where you can see breakage after placing it into a ponytail. Don’t get me wrong-a ponytail will always be a style I use on occasion, but I’m certainly thinking twice about how often I wear my hair up tightly. Get regular trims: For the past two years, I have decided I want longer hair, ideally, I’d love to get six inches of growth overnight. Much to my surprise that did not happen and going to my stylist has given me a bit of anxiety. So TikTok helped end the debate in my mind—will a trim help with hair growth? The answer is yes and no. Trimming your hair will not make the rate of growth increase but once you get a split end, it’s game over, you are better off trimming that hair to ensure the damage doesn’t get worse. Dry your hair with a T-shirt: I get it, this trend seems crazy, but it costs nothing to give it a try, so of course, I did. I love this video because she provides a step by step instruction on how to tie a shirt over your hair to dry it rather than using a towel. Using a shirt is a softer fabric and when your hair is wet, it’s at its most vulnerable state, so this should help reduce breakage that a heavy towel may cause. Hair growth tips: I’m really amazed at how many videos there are talking about how to have healthy hair and increase growth. Some additional tips include weekly hair masks, hair oils, scalp massages and the utilization of satin pillowcases. Ultimately these tips offer ways for you to hydrate your hair and reduce breakages. I can assure you even with the inclusion of these tips, my hair still has not grown six inches overnight, but I do think my hair is getting healthier and I’m willing to try to be patient. Next, the 44 best TikTok viral recipes to try!

TikTok Hair Hacks   Best Hair Hacks from TikTok to Try - 59