As of now, the game show hasn’t been given a pick-up but is considered a pilot. According to Deadline, Bergeron told Bob Saget about the new gig recently on Saget’s podcast. “We’re hearing, as one does in Hollywood, that there’s ‘great buzz,’ but I’m a New Englander so it’s not real until it’s real,” Bergeron explained. “It was a good sign that another NBC show called and asked if I’d be available to come by and do a cameo.” Tic-Tac-Dough originally aired on NBC from 1956 to 1959 with both a daytime and primetime version. Jack Berry and Gene Rayburn hosted the daytime version; Win Elliot helmed the evening show. It was later back as The New Tic-Tac-Dough with host Wink Martindale, airing from 1978-1986. A syndicated series was also produced in 1990, hosted by Patrick Wayne. On Tic-Tac-Dough, contestants playing the traditional game of Tic Tac Toe, except their X’s or O’s are earned by answering questions on a game board. “What was fun for me was to get back on a stage and know that it was still fun and know that I could still break up the crew,” Bergeron said on the podcast. “It’s important to me that the environment be good for everybody.” “At this particular point in my career, I’m just looking to have a good time,” he added. “I don’t need to host anything anymore — the only reason I agreed to this particular project was because of who came [retired Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune exec Harry Friedman] and asked me.” As viewers will remember, Bergeron’s Dancing With the Stars contract was not renewed in 2020, following a 15-year tenure as host of the ABC competition series. He had tweeted at the time, “Just informed @DancingABC will be continuing without me. It’s been an incredible 15 year run and the most unexpected gift of my career. I’m grateful for that and for the lifelong friendships made. That said, now what am I supposed to do with all of these glitter masks?” Next, It’s Premiere Night! Who Went Home on Dancing With the Stars Last Night?

Tom Bergeron to Host Remake of Classic Game Show Tic Tac Dough  2021   - 94