Nick Wallace had been bringing in a good haul by the twelfth episode of Top Chef: Houston. As the first chef from Mississippi, he was doing the Magnolia State proud. He had won four challenges, including three Quickfires that earned him the nickname of “The Baker” from all the dough he was rolling in. But after a relatively solid season of cooking, it was fish that ended his tale. For the first time in the competition, Nick struggled with timing. As a result, he rushed the execution of his two dishes, which the judges noticed. So they decided it was time to 86 Nick and his 26 spices. Read on to hear Nick’s thoughts on his time in the game. What compelled you to apply for Top Chef? After getting reached out to by someone on the Top Chef casting team on Instagram, I was totally floored. I knew it would be a sacrifice for my life, but I had to realize the outcome. When I got to that point, the paperwork was filled out, and I put my best self on the screen for my interviews, and it happened! I really was looking for something to bring awareness to me as a person and chef and the many greats we have embedded in Mississippi. How did the famous “Nick’s 26 spices” come about? Have you been asked to commercialize it since being on the show? Nick’s 26 was started many years ago with a good friend that really believed in me. We started playing with numbers like the Apple models, and then Nick’s 26 was born. It describes a lot of my style and how I was raised not to be scared to let your food be different. I haven’t been asked just yet about commercializing the seasoning, but I have spoken to Kroeger, and I won’t stop until it’s on the shelves. It’s one of the best all-purpose seasonings that I’ve ever tasted. So thank you Top Chef! Because the demand is real, and now my kitchen has turned into a warehouse. You are the first cheftestant from Mississippi. How do you feel you represented the state? I feel that I did it just by being myself. I’ve always thought I was an easy bet, but I’ve always had to prove myself to so many just to get a seat at the table. I want that table to be bigger. Now Mississippi is rewarded in the way it should. Let’s talk about you becoming “The Baker.” How did it feel to win so much money throughout the season? The Baker is a natural name that was birthed by Buddha Lo. Dang, I love this guy. It’s those natural things in life that you want to happen, and it happens with you just being yourself and letting life take its course. I feel great about bringing some bucks home because it will go to great use, and that’s a big win! You admitted it was difficult for you to concentrate during the family challenge with your mom there. Do you feel that ultimately reflected in your performance? The family challenge is hard for me, especially with having my mom there. If it were anyone else, I would probably get hyped up in a sense. I’m the oldest this season, and I’ve built up an incredible family of businesses. To touch that feeling for a moment honestly got into my head, and I tripped myself up because of it. But I cherish that moment so much. You spoke about spending your culinary career hiding in other people’s shadows. How did it feel to showcase who you were without cooking someone else’s dishes? It felt great just being myself. Yes, it’s the structure for working for someone and never getting the right rewards that give you the right feelings that you deserve. It was my turning point of how I want to look back but continue to build my legacy. Let’s talk about the challenge that eliminated you. Were you surprised this was the first time you struggled with time in the competition? I was definitely surprised that I struggled so badly. I can take on so much and have been the type of chef that can work the same amount as four people. So the amount of work isn’t a problem, but it’s a problem when you get in your own way. I hold myself accountable. This is easier now in my life to deal with than in the past. It’s clear you had a very close relationship with Damarr. Talk to me about how that developed. Damarr and I locked eyes after first seeing each other. I thought, “I got the right company, so now let’s keep up and do this and show the world.” I don’t have a brother, just an older sister. I want success for him, and he wants the same for me. At the football challenge, I heard he was making dirty farro, and he heard I was making a pot licker. And I was like, “Dang, this is my brother from another mother!” (Laughs.) You said that your elimination didn’t feel like a failure. How were you able to swallow the defeat, knowing you were so close to the end? My elimination wasn’t a failure. I’ve shown and demanded my worth to be noticed. It hurts. But when you are strong in your mind, you really think about the positive because they definitely out way the negative. The world saw me for three months of TV time. Folks in Mississippi say I’m an actor now because of it. I’ll take that! I also will not cringe when leaving Top Chef because you can see the love I left from the chefs and the judges. I’m super grateful and blessed. Cheers to Top Chef! Next, check out our interview with Ashleigh Shanti, who was eliminated in Top Chef Houston Episode 11.

Top Chef Season 19   Nick Wallace Post Elimination Interview - 54