“It was a delight to get to sing this old favorite of mine with two of my favorite people (and bandmates in I’m With Her), Sarah Jarosz and Aoife O’Donovan,” Watkins shares. “On a personal level, I spent the first two years of my daughter’s life on the road with them (and Aoife with her daughter as well) and though my daughter will not remember that time, I will never forget the support and strength that they gave me as I was a new mother.” Listen and watch now: Created with families in mind, Under The Pepper Tree encompasses songs Watkins embraced as a child herself and brings storytelling, solace and encouragement to the listener, no matter the age. In addition to two stunning original songs, the album includes Sara’s renditions of “Pure Imagination” from the 1971 film Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory, The Beatles’ “Good Night,” “Moon River” (originally sung by Audrey Hepburn in the 1961 film Breakfast at Tiffany’s) and more.  Under the Pepper Tree also reunites Sara’s Nickel Creek bandmates Chris Thile and her brother Sean on “Blue Shadows on the Trail” (from the 1986 comedy The Three Amigos), Sara’s I’m With Her bandmates Sarah Jarosz & Aoife O’Donovan on “Tumbling Tumbleweeds” (originally performed by Roy Rogers & Sons of the Pioneers), Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes on Harry Nilsson’s “Blanket for a Sail,” David Garza on Roy Orbison’s “Beautiful Dreamer,” and Sara’s now 3-year old daughter on her immensely sweet rendition of The Sound of Music’s “Edelweiss.”  The nostalgic and gentle Under the Pepper Tree offers a comforting record for those moments as daily rhythms fade into nightly rituals — and when a child’s imagination comes to life. “I want this album to be a place of calm, imagination, and relief,” Sara says. “Some days are perfect and things are a dream and make you feel like a superhero. And some days are just… such a challenge. I feel like this record has a place in both of those days, and I really hope that these recordings find a place in kids’ hearts, and become as special as they are to me.”  The 15-song set was produced by Tyler Chester (Sara Bareilles, Margaret Glaspy) and is the follow-up to her critically acclaimed 2016 solo album Young In All The Wrong Ways. Next, do people who are tone-deaf hear music differently?

Watch as Sara Watkins  Shares a Charming Family Friendly Version of  Tumbling Tumbleweeds  - 64