Getting one chair to turn, much less four, meant a lot to Holly. She auditioned for The Voice because it is about the voice and not appearance. When Holly was around 11, she began having seizures. The doctors put her on medication that made her hair brittle and patchy, and she ended up losing it. “For a kid, it’s not easy being bald,” said the 30-year-old caregiver for patients with autism and other developmental and intellectual disabilities from Catlettsburg, Ky. “At that time, I listened to music. It gave me confidence.” Holly is the mother to two children: daughter Violet, 7, and son Oliver, 1, with her partner Seth, who she met through an ad for playing music. So how did Holly’s Blind Audition shake out? Here is how it unfolded: Blake: “I was the last person to hit my button and you are probably going to hear about that from everybody. They’re going to be like, ‘I hit first.’ I hit it last.” And John, bemoaning his blocked fate, said, “I definitely didn’t hit mine first, apparently.” Blake continued, “What a great performance. My favorite part was when you hit these little notes in the verses. That’s impressive. That’s what makes you not just a singer, that’s what makes you an artist and someone that everybody can relate to on the stage in that moment. So, I would be proud to be your damn coach.” Ariana chimed in then, saying, “That was so incredibly moving. I am choked up beyond. Every single second of it was so emotionally charged. I respect and admire and would love to work with you.” It looked as if it was going to pay off for Ariana to use her Block on John when Holly told her, “My daughter’s watching and she’s the biggest fan of you.” Then it was John’s turn to speak. He said, “I was maliciously held back from the opportunity to pitch to you why I would love to have you on Team Legend. I may have deserved it because I used my Block on Ariana. She’s been upset with me for a while. She hasn’t spoken to me in the hallways or anything. Giving me dirty looks.” Ariana insisted, “That’s not true. You’re a liar and a fraud.” Kelly added, “Very unbecoming.” Blake said, “I am so proud of John right now.” “I just want to congratulate you on giving such a compelling performance that made all of us so excited to turn around and see the amazing person behind the amazing voice,” John told Holly. “ I am sad I won’t get the chance to coach you.” Finally, it was Kelly’s turn to give her pitch. She said, “[Ariana’s] great, I get it, but I’m great, too. I’ve won this show a few times; I’ve won a show on my own. I loved your voice from the beginning, especially when you did the growl, the raspy soulful thing. You just got lost in it and you became the vessel for the song and that’s the most beautiful thing. I know there’s maybe a slim chance, because if my baby girl liked her, I’d probably go with her, too, because I do everything my daughter loves, but Violet, I’m really cool, too!” Then Blake took a turn trying to dissuade Holly from picking Ariana: “Can I say something in reference to your beautiful daughter that loves Ariana, that some children love too much sugar, or some kids might like playing with fire. It’s not necessarily the best thing. You see what I am saying?” Finally, the coaches ran out of steam and it was time for Holly to make her choice, and she surprised everyone – but we had to wait until Tuesday night for her answer. She said, “I grew up with you Kelly Clarkson, so I’m going to go with her.” The Voice airs Monday and Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. ET/PT on NBC. Next, Here’s What We Know About Season 21 of The Voice, Including the 4 New Advisors

Who Did The Voice Four Chair Turn Holly Forbes Pick For Her Coach   2021  - 80