Even after the very public Jonas Brothers split in 2013, Joe did just fine, starting the band DNCE, whose biggest hit was “Cake by the Ocean.” Soon after, he slid into the DMs of another pretty popular celeb: Sophie Turner. At the time, Turner was starring as one of the main characters on HBO’s blockbuster series Game of Thrones. Once Jonas and Turner met in person, they became inseparable, and she’s even appeared with him onscreen in the 2019 video for the Jonas Brothers’ “Sucker”, made after the JoBros reunited. Chances are she’ll also make an appearance on The Jonas Brothers Family Roast when it drops Tuesday, Nov. 23 on Netflix. Keep reading to find out how “Jophie” (as sister-in-law Priyanka Chopra calls them!) met, why she thought he’d be a “d**k,” how Joe didn’t even take his own advice about getting married, how they’ve expanded their family to include a new baby, and how they’ve made each other better people during the time they have been together. Here’s everything we know about Joe Jonas and wife Sophie Turner.

Who is Joe Jonas married to?

The 25-year-old British actress who played Sansa Stark never expected she would end up married to a JoBeoa. She grew up as a shy kid who somehow found her way into acting, and was cast as the eldest Stark daughter in Game of Thrones when she was just 14. And after eight years and an Emmy nomination, she couldn’t even watch the last season of the show that had made her a star.  Talking to Elle in 2020, she admitted that she fell behind on GoT episodes and started reading viewer comments that made her just not want to finish. “I feel like not everyone can be satisfied with the ending. Especially a show that’s been going for 10 years at that point," she explained. “People have so many ideas about how they want it to end. You can’t make every fan happy.” Still, the show had a major impact on her career that she’s only just starting to realize. “Now that I’m out of it, I’m only starting to realize how incredible it was, and what a revelation it was for television. I’m like, Oh my god, I’ve been blessed. When it’s happening, you don’t realize you’re among greatness… And I’ll never have anything like it again. Nothing will be the same as that. And only now am I realizing that.” She’s still acting, however; in 2019, she made the leap to film as Jean Grey in the X-Men: Dark Phoenix. Turner has been very vocal about having depression, hoping to make things better for others; she talked to Dr. Phil about it in 2019. “Since I was young, we’ve had a whole mental health thing in our family,” she told him, saying she’d dealt with depression for “about five or six years now.” For Turner, the biggest challenge was “just getting out of bed and getting out of the house.” She hopes to inspire others to be open about what they’re going through and hopes she can help. “That is what I absolutely hope to be like, to just speak about it and be transparent about it,” she said. The couple has launched a mental health foundation, Jonas told GayleKing in May 2021; “He’s seen the worst,” Turner told Dr. Phil.

How did Joe Jonas meet Sophie Turner?

Turner wasn’t quite sure about Jonas, to be honest. In fact, she expected him to be “a dk.” “We hated [the Jonas Brothers],” Turner once said in an interview. Why? As it turns out, at the time the future spouses met, Turner and her friends were fans of a British band called Busted. The Jonas Brothers covered one of their songs, and then Busted promptly broke up—so they blamed the Americans. But fortunately for Jonas, people kept mentioning him to her. First, a producer on a film, who had once been a neighbor of the Jonases, told her, “You should meet Joe Jonas, I feel like you would really get along with him.” Then, Turner recalled, “I went to a meeting and Joe’s agent was in the room. And he was like, ‘You remind me of one of my clients. I bet you two would really hit it off.’” So when Jonas finally sent her a private message during a tour in England, she agreed to meet up… almost as a joke. “I was living with friends in Camden, in a really rough flat,” she recalled to Elle in 2020. “When I told my friends, they were like, ‘Yes! Joe Jonas! That’s hilarious. You have to do it.’” Their first date took place at a local bar. “I expected [Jonas] to show up with security and everything. I thought he would be such a dk,” Turner said. “I took all my guy friends with me to meet him, because in the back of my mind I was worried he could be a catfish, or… I don’t know what… I just wanted my guy friends with me,” she continued. “I had my rugby boys. I was safe.” When Jonas arrived—without security—he and Turner clicked immediately. “I remember us two spending only a couple of minutes on the dance floor, and then we found a space in the far corner and we just talked. We talked for hours and hours and hours. And I wasn’t bored. It wasn’t contrived, it wasn’t small talk–it was just so easy. Soon, we were inseparable. And then I went on tour with him.” They did break up—for one day: “It was the worst day of our lives. For a second we both had cold feet, then 24 hours later we were both, like, ‘Never mind.’” The couple was seen together publicly as early as November 2016, and soon in high-profile environments like the HBO Golden Globes afterparty in 2017. They were finally engaged on October 15, 2017. “She said yes,” he posted on Instagram, with a shot of the solitaire pear-cut diamond. “I said yes,” she posted as well, with the same picture.  That was a big move for Turner, who thought she’d be single forever. “I was fully preparing myself to be single for the rest of my life," she once said. “I think once you’ve found the right person, you just know. I feel like I’m much older a soul than I am in age. I feel like I’ve lived enough life to know. I’ve met enough guys to know—I’ve met enough girls to know.”

When was Joe Jonas married?

When he decided to get married, Jonas told James Corden in March 2019 that he learned “mostly things not to do” from watching his own brothers’ weddings. He mentioned that his brother Kevin got married in a snowstorm so “maybe don’t get married in December,” and also advised himself to have “one [wedding] and done,” referencing brother Nick’s “18” weddings and festivities (he married Bollywood superstar Priyanka Chopra). It turns out though, he didn’t fully take his own advice; Joe had two weddings himself. The first wedding was a shock to everyone, happening just after the 2019 Billboards Awards on May 1, 2019—in Vegas, officiated by an Elvis impersonator. Luckily for fans (but unluckily for the couple) Diplo livestreamed the event on Instagram. “Yeah, he did ruin it,” Joe said at the time. “I love Diplo, but he loves his ‘gram more than a 13-year-old. He posts every five seconds. He literally, like, livestreamed with dog face filters.” (Yes, he really did use a dog filter—during the vows even!) The couple wasn’t angry, however. “We just laughed. We loved it. We thought it was ridiculous, and I just love that he was walking into the chapel and he was like, ‘going to hit this wedding real quick,’ [in his Instagram Story].”  “[What happens in Vegas] doesn’t stay in Vegas,” Turner told Graham Norton. “It would have been better if no one had known,” the actress later admitted. “I think at some point I would have had to stop saying ‘fiancé,’ but… marriage is a private thing between two people and I think that’s how it should always be. It’s not about the dress, it’s not about the food. It’s about being husband and wife, and being dedicated to each other forever.” “Well in my mind, that was the legal portion of the marriage,” Jonas would later say. “So I was thinking, like, ‘Look, this is not the most important day. There’s an important day, I mean, I’ll keep private, but ahead of us. So we were, like—this is, like, just whoever’s in town.” In fact, his own parents didn’t find out until later. According to Chopra, the Vegas event was Joe’s idea. “He had these little black cards that we all got. We were like, randomly inviting our friends, like people that we met. We were like, ‘alright, we’re going to set up this wedding now, we’re going to the chapel right from here, and please arrive.’” Chopra loved the Vegas wedding. “That was so fun. It was so fun! And it’s so Jophie, I call them Jophie. It’s like, trust them to do that. That is Jophie… And they’re going to have this amazing, beautiful [second] wedding obviously. Was I not supposed to say that?” Indeed, Jonas and Turner had a much more traditional wedding on June 29, 2019, when they married again in the south of France at the Château de Tourreau in Sarrians, France. Turner wore a silk and lace Louis Vuitton gown, and Jonas wore a Berluti tux. Maisie Williams, who played Turner’s sister Arya on Game of Thrones, was there, as were model AshleyGraham and all the other Jonas brothers and their wives. Diplo was again present in France as well, (he says he didn’t know the Vegas wedding was real!); he posted a picture of himself and joked, “This is the only photo I got from Joe and Sophie Turner Jonas wedding because they took my phone from me and put it in a holding cell during the ceremony. Heard it was lovely tho.” After the wedding, the couple both posted a shot of them just after they were married, beaming.

Is Joe Jonas a dad?

In February 2020, multiple outlets reported that Turner was pregnant, less than a year after the couple got married. While there was never a formal announcement, later in his wife’s pregnancy, Joe Jonas shared a picture of Turner and her baby bump. Their first daughter, Willa, arrived on July 22, 2020. In a statement released by the couple five days later, they said they were “delighted to announce the birth of their baby.” This year, in March for Mother’s Day in the U.K., Turner posted online, “I’m so grateful to the two loves of my life for making me a mama. Joe Jonas and my beautiful baby girl, It’s my favorite job I’ve ever had.” She followed that up with a Father’s Day post for Jonas, capturing him in a very ‘dad’ outfit. “Happy Father’s Day to the ultimate dad and all the dads out there," she wrote. “Joe you are the best baby daddy, It’s my greatest joy to watch.” Like many famous parents, they’ve had to deal with paparazzi photographing their baby, and Turner in particular has been very vocal about it. “It’s… creepy that grown old men taking pictures of a baby without their permission,” she said in May 2021, in a since-deleted Instagram post. “I’m sickened, I’m disgusted and I’m respectfully asking everyone to stop following us around and stop trying to take pictures of our daughter and especially printing them.” She and Jonas were not quick to post pictures of their baby online because “I explicitly do not want those photos out there… She did not ask for this life, to be photographed. It’s disgusting,” she said at the time.

How has marriage changed Joe Jonas and Sophie Turner?

If anything, their relationship has stayed much the same. “With Joe, I always felt like I was the one who was punching way above my weight. And I still feel like that,” Turner says. “He’s so handsome, he’s so talented, he’s so funny, he’s so charismatic. How am I with him? So… I don’t know. I’m really lucky to be with him and have someone like him want to be around me and spend time with me.”  Has anything changed for Turner? “I feel as though the only thing that’s changed for me is having this incredible sense of security,” she’s said. “Just the word ‘husband’ and the word ‘wife’–they solidify the relationship. I love being married. I think it’s wonderful. I’m sure we’ll have our hiccups, but right now the security and the safety are everything.” Even if marriage itself hasn’t brought major changes to their relationship, their love has had a major impact on the people they’ve become. “I was going through this phase of being very mentally unwell. He was, like, ‘I can’t be with you until you love yourself, I can’t see you love me more than you love yourself.’ That was something, him doing that. I think he kind of saved my life, in a way,” she said.   Jonas echoes the sentiment in his lyrics for the Jonas Brothers  song “Hesitate,” which is about Turner. “This is, kind of, I think, one of those love letters you write to your partner saying, ‘I’ll be there no matter what,’” Joe said in an interview. Part of the lyrics read: “I will take your pain / And put it on my heart / I won’t hesitate / Just tell me where to start / I thank the oceans for giving me you / You save me once, and now I’ll save you too.” Jonas has said his wife makes him want to be a better man. “In finding myself, I was also able to find a partner. The impact of falling in love has made me want to be a better man, a better person, and ultimately made me a better brother,” Jonas said in an interview. In fact, he credits her with being one reason he was able to make things better with his own brothers so that they were able to get the band back together. At the time, he had started DNCE and wouldn’t even play Jonas Brothers songs.  “It encouraged me to see she had such a great relationship with her brothers. That was really a big thing for me to be able to look at, and say, ‘I gotta get my s**t together.’” As with many couples, they’ve found themselves closer since the pandemic began. “It’s been amazing,” Jonas told Gayle King. “It’s been forced time at home—I’m always on the go, I’m always moving and traveling and touring. To be in one place for a solid amount of time and having my feet on the ground and be with my family, my immediate family, is time I don’t think I’ll get back. I’m so thankful and grateful.”

How to watch the Jonas Brothers Family Roast

The Jonas Brothers Family Roast is streaming exclusively on Netflix, starting Tuesday, Nov. 23. The special will be hosted by Kenan Thomspon, with special appearances by Niall Horan, Pete Davidson, Lily Singh and others. Next, Talk About a Full House! Get to Know Candace Cameron Bure’s 3 Children and Her NHL Star Husband

Who Is Joe Jonas Married To  All About Wife Sophie Turner - 43