Who is Simone Ashley in Bridgerton?

Ashley stars as Kate Sharma in Bridgerton Season 2, the protective older sister of Edwina Sharma (played by Charithra Chandran) and reluctant love interest to Anthony Bridgerton (Jonathan Bailey). She previously told Parade of her role, “In a nutshell, Kate is very strong; and in some ways fierce. I would say that she has a very strong mind and I think that’s one of her strengths. But there’s an endearing flaw to that where maybe sometimes she can trust her mind over her heart a little bit too much. I think that’s maybe a trait of being an elder sibling. I think she’s not honest with herself sometimes, and that unfortunately makes her a bit dishonest with the people around her. But it comes from a place of love and protection for Edwina.” She added, “Kate has to be observant in order to make sure what’s going on, to protect her family, to protect her sister, and she mutters things to herself or keeps things to herself.  Then we see her loosen up and journey on as she surrenders to love.  We see that in her look she becomes more colorful and more playful. It’s been a pleasure to bring Kate to life from Julia Quinn’s amazing novels.”

What is Simone Ashley’s real name?

Ashley was born Simone Ashwini Pillai. She uses Simone Ashley as a stage name.

Who are Simone Ashley’s parents?

Ashley’s parents are Latha and Gunasekharan Pillai. She admitted that they were a bit nervous about her pursuing acting instead of more conventional jobs. “I grew up in a household full of Indian academics, you know, the doctors, the engineers, the accountants—it’s pretty cliche,” she joked to Veylex in a 2019 interview. “I was never a budding academic, and always thrived in creative fields. They still find it quite scary and unsettling. There is no crystal ball, no security, no guarantee, which can be a parent’s worst nightmare,” she said. “But they know I’m a smart lady. You can’t spend your life going with what your parents want, or your friends, teachers, lovers, want.” Words to live by!

What is Simone Ashley’s nationality?

Ashley’s ethnicity is Tamil Indian. While she’s proud of her background and happy to provide onscreen representation for Indian women, she doesn’t necessarily wish to be a spokesperson for everyone with the same heritage. She explained to Porter, “For me, my responsibility is to read the script, do the work, turn up on set, and do a great job. That’s it. I guess everyone deals with it in their own way, but I am an actress at the end of the day. Opportunities should be open for any individual, and I just think us being there is enough.”

How old is Simone Ashley?

Ashley turns 27 on March 30, 2022. Her birthday is March 30, 1995.

Where was Simone Ashley born?

Ashley was born in Camberley, Surrey, England. The town is about 30 miles from London. Though born in the United Kingdom, Ashley told Glamourthat she has rarely lived in any one place for more than a single year, saying she “grew up everywhere.” She has spent the bulk of her time in London and Los Angeles in recent years, but doesn’t rule out more moves in the future. “Every year, something changes,” she said, “which can be exhausting but amazing.”

Is Simone Ashley British?

Ashley is British, as she was born in the U.K. Though she moves often, she said she’s recently lived most of her life in London and Los Angeles since her acting career took off.

Is Simone Ashley of Indian origin?

Ashley’s family is of Tamil Indian origin, but she doesn’t want to be defined by her ethnicity, especially not in her work. “I’m interested in culturally specific roles, but also very much so non-culturally specific ones,” she told Glamour. “I want to go up for roles that anyone can relate to. I want to be seen for my talent. I think I’m very smart and I’ve got great ideas, and I want to be seen for that and not for how I look.” She noted that while she’s gotten Bollywood offers, she turned them down for now. “I said no to a lot of that because I want to change it up,” she explained. “I want to take roles that maybe people wouldn’t expect me to play.”

Is Simone Ashley married?

Ashley told Glamour that she’s currently single, but that she wouldn’t mind settling down with the right person someday. “I’d love to have my own family one day,” she said. “I think that would be a sense of home for me.”

Who is Simone Ashley in Broadchurch?

Ashley starred in two episodes of Broadchurch in 2017 as Dana. She was among a who’s-who of British A-listers, including Doctor Whostars David Tennant and Jodie Whittaker, as well as Oscar-winner Olivia Colman. Her Bridgerton paramour Bailey also appears in the series, but they were never onscreen together in Broadchurch.

What are some Simone Ashley movies and TV shows?

In addition to Bridgerton and Broadchurch, Ashley has also starred in the Netflix series Sex Educationas Olivia Hanan. She’s appeared in TV shows including Wolfblood, Guilt, C.B. Strike, Inspector Coliando, Casualty and Doctors, as well as the miniseries The Sister. In terms of film, Ashley’s resume is a bit shorter (but only so far!), with roles in the TV movie A Working Mom’s Nightmare and Pokémon Detective Pikachu. Next, check out these Bridgerton-inspired vacation spots to capture the Regency era in real life!

Who Is Simone Ashley From Bridgerton  - 89