White moved to Los Angeles straight out of high school after scoring the role of Lip on the series when he was just 18. During his time on the series, he went from being a teenager who “was learning a lot about how to behave as a person outside of an actor,” to a husband and a father. While he expressed his gratitude for the role, he noted that there were some hardships along the way as well, including a lot of self-doubt. “I love Shameless so much. I love everybody that was a part of it, and the experience was incredible,” White said, adding, “But I’m not sure if shows are meant to go that long.” He went on to explain that he was questioning his existence as an actor outside of the show, stating, “There was a period where I stopped feeling like an actor and I started feeling like I was just here to do this show.” He continued, “When it was going to end, I was questioning: Maybe I do just exist on this show. What else is there? Am I an actor? I was definitely having a lot of doubt when I was finishing Shameless.” However, White eventually found his way! Fast-forward to a year later, he is now starring in The Bear, a drama that premiered on June 23 and instantly became the must-watch show of the summer. He channeled all of the uncertainty he felt while filming Shameless into his new character, Carmy, a young chef who is running his family-owned Chicago-based sandwich shop following the tragic death of his brother. “I think that was something Carmy was really struggling with, too,” he said, adding, “We kind of found each other at a similar place. He knew he’s really gifted at this thing, but he could be painfully insecure about his abilities as well. I was feeling a little insecure at the end, too.” White shared his gratitude for the new series on Instagram, writing: “All episodes are out now. This show was such a gift. I shared the screen with a beautiful and talented cast, and shared a set with the most thoughtful and determined crew.”  “Thank you to everyone who had anything to do with making this happen. Thank you to my wife for putting up with me throughout. I feel so lucky. (Not pictured here is the incomparable Ayo Edebiri, but we’re all looking at her in this photo, and I know you’re all looking at her now) Lots of love,” he concluded.  You can stream The Bear now on Hulu!Next, William H. Macy shares his favorite Frank moment while filming Shameless.